Log in

Member Login

Our Entire team & Organizational Structure

Join Our Team

Are you passionate about Earth Science?   
Concerned on the direction of ESS in your State?

Want to join a community of like-minded teachers & academics advocating for Earth Science?

Do you like being a part of fresh, useful and relevant professional development?

Become a Member           Join our Team!

Executive Committee

6 yr Cycle —Elected position during "even" years
2yrs of each—President-elect; President; Past President

Executive Director
3 yr Term with option to extend
Contracted position serving at pleasure of Executive Directors, reporting to the Board of Directors 

Elected position during "even" years

Elected position during "even" years

Board Member Representative to EC (BMRTEC)
Annually elected position by members of the Board of Directors

Elected Directors

Responsible for National scope
(4) Directors-at-Large
Elected every two years, half elected alternating years

Regional Directors
Responsible for specific Regional scope (see Regional Leadership page for map of areas)
(8) Regional Directors
Elected every two years, half elected alternating years

    • Even Regions elected during Odd yrs
    • Odd Regions elected during Even yrs

Appointed Positions

Appointed Director
Responsible for select topics / representative of organizations
Voting member of the Board of Directors

Selected by Executive Committee from Appointed Officers

Appointed every two years, half appointed alternating years

Appointed Officer
Responsible for select topics / representative of organizations
Coordinator; Advisor; Committee Chair
Non-voting member
Selected by the President
Appointment based on need of NESTA

State Contacts
Selected by Regional Director & President
Non-voting member of the Board of Directors
Annual Appointment

The Earth Scientist Editors
Selected by President with approval of Board of Directors
Serves at the pleasure of President

Executive Committee

 President Natalie Macke  2022-24
 Past-President  Belinda Jacobs  2022-24
 President Elect  To be filled  2022-24
 Secretary  Missy Holzer  2022-24
 Treasurer  Parker Pennington IV  2022-24
 BMREC  Matthew Haverty  2022-23
 BMREC  Diane Ripollone  2022-23

Board of Directors

 Region I  Emily Hollyway 2022-24 
 Region II Dr. Mike Jabot 2021-23
 Region III  Andrea Mangold 2022-24
 Region IV  Chris Campbell 2021-23
 Region V  Jay Sinclair 2022-24
 Region VI  DeEtta Anderson 2021-23
 Region VII  Matthew Haverty 2022-24
 Region VIII  To be filled 2021-23
 Director at Large Diane Ripollone 2023-25
 Director at Large  Angie Rizzi
 Director at Large  Kimberley Norris-Jones 2022-24
 Director at Large  Diane Tom-Ogata 2022-24
Appointed Director  Elaine Bohls-Graham 2022-24
Appointed Director Randall Sanders 2022-24
Appointed Director  Ardis Herrold 2023-25
Appointed Director  Belinda Jacobs 2022-24
Appointed Director  Joe Monaco 2023-25
 Appointed Director  Enrique Reyes 2022-24
Appointed Director  Peg Steffen 2022-24
 Appointed Director  David Thesenga 2021-23

Appointed Officers

 Coordinator  George Bartuska  2022-24
 Coordinator  To be filled  2022-24
 Coordinator  Anthony Thomas  2022-24
 Editor  To be filled
 Wendy DeMers  2022-24
 Liaison  Don Haas
 Liaison  Marie Royle
 2023 - 25
 Liaison  Elizabeth Torres Rodriguez  2023-25

Committee Positions

Committee Teams

 PD Committee  Marketing Committee  HO Committee  Finance Committee
Ardis Herrold

Natalie Macke


Parker Pennington IV

 DeEtta Anderson  George Bartuska    Elaine Bohls-Graham  Natalie Macke
 George Bartuska    Peg Steffen  Tom Ervin   Peg Steffen
 Chris Campbell
 Elaine Bohls-Graham
 Diane Tom-Ogata  Matt Haverty
Angela Rizzi 
Wendy Demir
 Kimberley Norris-Jones  Randall Sanders
 Don Haas Parker Pennington IV
 Enrique Reyes
 Missy Holzer
 David Thesenga
 Joe Monaco   
 Mike Jabot 
 Julia Genyuk
 Belinda Jacobs
 Kimberley Norris-Jones
Enrique Reyes
 David Thesenga
 Anthony Thomas


 American Meteorological Society Logo

  NOAA logo

American Geosciences Institute logo

 Stay Connected:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software